The 21-Day Writing and Reading Workshop

25 Mar

This is pure challenge. It’s a test, yes. And it begins tomorrow.

What this workshop means is that I am writing a book and so far, have yo-yo’d between TV days and no-TV days. For 21 days, I am giving up the most distracting element in my life — TV.

I am a TV junkie. I get up and I have to watch TV; I am done with my day’s work, I have to watch TV; I keep surfing channels even when there’s nothing to watch. I need noise. Noise definitely takes away from writing and reading.

So here’s the plan —

No TV. If my parents switch on the TV, I move to another room. If I am eating, I can allow myself to sit with my mother who would be watching a Hindi serial or a Bengali movie, which I would have no interest in anyway. If she is watching CID, I don’t sit with her. Interesting movies releasing in the theatres? Shrug them off.

What will I be doing with my time? There is a LOT to read. Lately I’ve been buying books like they’re the last copies available on earth. I shall read them now. I shall post blogs more frequently, so I get more writing done that way, if a different style of writing. And I shall write more short stories. I enjoy writing more than one story at a time, and balancing a novel with short stories has turned out to be great for me. I shall step out for walks, go for my yoga classes, meditate and whatever else — even reading Open or The Guardian online is okay. But no TV. The world is my oyster I can do anything but watch TV.

So, adieu The Simpsons, CID, Band Baaja Baarat and every other movie, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. (sob!), hello reading in the quiet, writing in the quiet, planning in the quiet, learning in the quiet, meditating, writing writing and some more reading.

It sounds liberating. I have no doubt it’s going to be tough, and I shall need an outlet for venting any time soon.

Wish me luck!

Beginning Saturday March 26, ending April 16, the day I head for Vipassana in a centre nearby.

One Response to “The 21-Day Writing and Reading Workshop”

  1. naamless 20 MarchUTCbSat, 26 Mar 2011 12:22:15 +0000000000pmSat, 26 Mar 2011 12:22:15 +000011 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Is it like a breach of privacy that i reached your blog after having my long voyeuristic tryst on social networking site?
    Interesting read and quite connecting.
    Wish you luck and kindly wish me the same.

Leave a Reply

Japleen Pasricha

Founder of Feminism In India. Feminist. Activist. Educator. Traveller

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

All Quiet On The Wench Front

Herstory at its fucking finest.

Ashish Shakya

Writer. Stand-up comic. General idiot for hire.

